Watermelon Salad

I know it looks like a hot mess at first, but during a hot summer this recipe really works. Inspired by the watermelon we bought at the farmer’s market on Saturday mom and I thought a simple watermelon salad would be good for a lunch menu.

The first time I had a watermelon salad was in downtown Boston one afternoon. It was at a Mediterranean restaurant that was new to the area. The dish was great, and fancy looking as well. They had single cubes of watermelon placed over a few spinach leaves with a swirl of balsamic vinaigrette and complementing feta sprinkles. Now while that set-up might work for an appetizer at a restaurant, no one really has that kind of time, or patience for a quick lunch. So mine ended up looking more like this:

IMG_20160724_095355

lBakingTools

Not so bad if I say so myself. Now I’m going to try and walk you through this recipe as best as I can remember, but bear with me as this was a spur of the moment creation.

Watermelon Salad

Ingredients

  • 1 tbsp balsamic
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • pinch of salt and pepper (for taste)
  • 1 tsp garlic paste
  • Arugula
  • 1 watermelon (or 1 1/2 cup of watermelon cubes)

Instructions

  1. Prep your watermelon if you need to. Using a cleaver or other large knife, cut your watermelon in half and then quarters. Using one quarter start to cut out cubes of the watermelon. Depending on your preference keep the seeds or carefully pick them out of your small cubes.
  2. After you have about 1 1/2 cup watermelon begin to prep your salad bowl with a row of arugula. You can use any salad for this but I think arugula goes the best.
  3. Next prepare the balsamic vinaigrette. Now I didn’t have any balsamic vinaigrette so I made my own by combing the olive oil and balsamic. After that I added the garlic and salt and pepper. The ingredients can be stirred with a spoon or whisk.
  4. Finally add the watermelon to the bowl of arugula, then add the vinaigrette.

Notes

*I added some oregano to my salad since I had the herb lying around. I think it added a nice addition to it. Also my arugula was planted next to a jalapeño plant and as a result had a little spicy kick to it which worked well. Yay organic farming!

 

 

Leave a Reply

