Apple and Almond ‘Tuna’ Salad

So with the intense heat, I’ve been craving something light but tasty. Now my go to summer spread for an easy sandwich is usually tuna salad, but without any tuna I had to get creative this time.

Tooldf

Now my family is known for creating interesting tuna salad mixes. My mom usually adds apple, and pickle to her usual tuna salad while my grandmother makes a salmon tuna salad with apple. The nice part about spread dishes like tuna salad is that you can really make it your own.

20160727_174230

That’s basically what I did using Oh She Glows almond tuna recipe. I choose to use apple because I really like the crunchiness of it in a tuna salad. Honeycrisp apples are my favorite though, because as the name suggests they have a perfect crunchy to sweet ratio that makes them addicting. However I’m sure you could try different types of apples as well.

20160727_175139

I also wanted to use up some of my almond slices leftover from the kale salad I made earlier this week. I’m glad to say that my mom enjoyed this recipe (it had been a couple of days since I made her dinner…) This recipe is also really easy to do if you don’t have a lot of time, which is why I choose not to use raw almonds that require 3 hours of prep to soak them in water.

Apple and Almond ‘Tuna’ Salad

Prep Time: 15 minutes                        Bake time: 0 minutes                       Serves: 4

Ingredients

  • 1 cup halved almonds
  • 1 finely chopped celery stalk
  • 2 stalks of finely chopped green onions
  • 1 honeycrisp apple
  • 1 garlic clove minced
  • 4 tbsp vegan mayo (to taste)
  • 2 tsp Dijon mustard
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • salt and pepper to taste

Instructions

  1. Add halved almonds into a food processor and process until finely chopped. The almonds should still be whole pieces and not small crumbles.
  2. Put the processed almonds in a mixture bowl and add the chopped celery, green onion, chopped apple, minced garlic, mayo, mustard and lemon juice then mix it together.
  3. Once it is mixed pretty well add salt and pepper to taste

Notes

*Developed from Oh She Glows

Leave a Reply

